Ayinger Brau-Weisse

       I thought for my first beer of the week, I’d try something a little out of my comfort zone.  Now, I should mention that as I have no professional experience reviewing beers, the first few BotW’s might be a little bumpy.  While familiar with some american craft beers like those made at the New Belgium Brewing Co. and Dogfish Head, I have to say this is my first authentic german beer. Ayinger Brau-Weisse is a Bavarian unfiltered wheat ale, brewed and bottled in Aying, Germany by Privatbraueri Franz Inselkammer.  I picked up this bottle at my local grocery store for $3.49/pint.

The first couple of things I noticed about this beer were the deliciously sweet aroma, almost hinting at a ripened banana, and the beautiful cloudy, golden color it has when poured into a glass.  Ayinger Brau-Weisse is incredibly smooth, with hints of citrus and vanilla and only a touch of bitter for some contrast.  It leaves a very pleasant aftertaste that slowly fades away, becoming more and more pleasant as time passes.  On top of this, the carbonation levels are just about spot on.

Overall, Ayinger Brau-Weisse is a great beer for a warm day (or any day for that matter).  Its easy to drink, a little sweet, and has just a touch of bitter to create a crisp feeling.  So if you like wheat beers, give this one a try (if you can find it)!  It’s moderately priced and has a flavor that’s sure not to disappoint.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

